[FredLug] Port scans and trace route

Chris O'Donnell chris at odonnellweb.com
Sat Feb 11 15:57:33 EST 2012


It's gkg.net - which I've had my domains at for 10 years, and my web sites at for about 5. I've never had a problem with them before. 

--
Chris O'Donnell
http://odonnellweb.com
@chrisod




---- On Sat, 11 Feb 2012 13:59:57 -0500 Xenophod<xenophod at gmail.com> wrote ---- 


That sounds ridiculous. 

Is there a way to use traceroute maliciously? I can't seem to find anything on the web about "bad traceroute" commands.


In your defense, you used traceroute correctly and for the right reasons. Hosting companies will often ask clients to "prove" there is an issue with a hosted site, by asking for traceroutes.
 

 Wikipedia says:
"traceroute is a computer network diagnostic tool for displaying the route (path) and measuring transit delays of packets across an Internet Protocol (IP) network."
 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Traceroute 




Please let us know which hosting company is claiming that traceroutes are interpreted as "malicious" so that I never do business with them. 


-dan-


On Sat, Feb 11, 2012 at 12:57 PM, Chris O'Donnell <chris at odonnellweb.com> wrote:
 All my web sites appeared to be down this AM, so I put in tech support request with my web host. It turns out the sites are up, my IP is blocked due to two incoming port scans against my domain. The port scans coincide with two trace routes I ran because I was moving a site to a different server and was trying to confirm which server was actually serving my requests. They admit that is it possible the trace route was interpreted as malicious.
 
Is that at all reasonable? 

--
Chris O'Donnell
http://odonnellweb.com
@chrisod



 

_______________________________________________
 FredLug mailing list
 FredLug at calypso.tux.org
 http://calypso.tux.org/mailman/listinfo/fredlug
 




 _______________________________________________ 
FredLug mailing list 
FredLug at calypso.tux.org 
http://calypso.tux.org/mailman/listinfo/fredlug 


-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://calypso.tux.org/pipermail/fredlug/attachments/20120211/a18d02f1/attachment.html 


More information about the FredLug mailing list