[Novalug] Spam or Worse?
Mike Mellor
alaskamike at gmail.com
Wed Sep 5 12:20:27 EDT 2007
I've been getting a lot of e-mail from a web site that I never visited. It
started out with a "Welcome to X" e-mail. Since then, I have gotten almost
daily messages from that site saying that credit has been added to my
account, then "corresponding" e-mails from a credit site (which has the same
host) saying that "credit has been approved", or sometimes that the credit
didn't go through. I've checked all of my credit cards, and nothing is
happening there. Today I got a response to an e-mail that supposedly came
from my account (not my name). As far as I can tell, the site only has my
address, no personal information (the name they list is not my name). So,
I've been tagging it as spam in GMail and ignoring it.
So, after all of that, the questions are:
Is this just some elaborate spam?
Could my e-mail account be compromised?
Should I contact the site (I have never replied to any message)?
Should I prepare to abandon this e-mail account?
TIA
Mike
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://calypso.tux.org/pipermail/novalug/attachments/20070905/0d7ca334/attachment.htm
More information about the Novalug
mailing list