[Novalug] Obvious SPAM

Jay Hart jhart at kevla.org
Mon Feb 4 09:04:41 EST 2008


> Jay,
>
>     Question - in the source code for this email, what does the
> "Unsubscribe" actually do?  As in, is it a legit unsubscribe, or
> is it some kinda signal back to the mother ship that your address
> is legit?
>

Looking at it now (I figured out how), I would guess the latter of the above
choices.  (But I ain't clicking on any links to find out either...)

Jay

> Ed James
>
> Quoting Jay Hart <jhart at kevla.org>:
>
>> Received this email today. Its an obvious spam email, but what has
>> me a little
>> concerned is that they spoofed the 'from' address. I've attached the full
>> header and email below.
> ...
> ....
>>
>>   		©2008 Microsoft | Unsubscribe | More Newsletters | Privacy
> ...
> _______________________________________________
> Novalug mailing list
> Novalug at calypso.tux.org
> http://calypso.tux.org/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/novalug
>





More information about the Novalug mailing list